Netflix has decided to cancel all the long-time inactive accounts. The company has come to a decision that they will remove users who have not logged in for more than a year. However, Netflix will ask once to everyone if these users want to continue their subscription. The company will send mail regarding this.
Then they will remove all the users who will not respond. According to Eddy Wu, Product innovation director of Netflix wrote on the official website, “You know that sinking feeling when you realize you signed up for something but haven’t used it in ages? At Netflix, the last thing we want is people paying for something they’re not using.”
These members will receive the main notification this week. They need to respond to the mail to keep their account active. However, even after deactivating, they can restart their account easily. The company will also restore their watching history and favorites, profiles, viewing preferences, and account details. But they need to join within 10 months.
He cleared that the intention of this mailing campaign is to encourage those inactive users to use their accounts. This is because the company wants these users have paid for their account. Hence, we think, this is one of the ways also to ask if they want to continue their subscriptions or not.
We also informed that they have already factored in these dormant accounts in their financial guidance. He also stated that they were not too worried about the inactive account as there are only 0.5% of inactive accounts. It will be really interesting to see how many dormant users shall take the decision to become active members again.
Netflix changed many features in recent months. For example, releasing some seasons early, promoting Netflix Party, and this email campaign. We believe that these decisions are influenced by the recent pandemic of COVID-19.